Kentucky FFA was well represented at the 90th Annual National FFA Convention, which was held October 25-28 in Indianapolis. Over 67,000 FFA members, advisors, and guests attended the Convention, which is the largest youth organization gathering in the United States.

Gracie Furnish of Harrison County FFA was elected National Eastern Region Vice President! Furnish, along with five other officers from across the country will lead the nation’s largest youth organization during the coming year. After completing an intense training process, she will spend the year traveling as an ambassador for the organization and the agriculture industry. In addition to attending state and national FFA functions, she will work with sponsors, policy makers, and agricultural education leaders. Furnish will take a year off from her studies as an Agricultural Education major at the University of Kentucky to fulfill the duties of her office. She is the daughter of Brian and Amy Furnish of Cynthiana and her FFA advisors are Savannah Robin, Erin Butler, and Chris Thompson.

Spencer County FFA won the Dairy Cattle Evaluation Career Development Event. Members of the Dairy Cattle Evaluation team included Connor Foster, Alexis Adams, Makenna Cox, Trinity Johnson. Connor Foster was the second high individual and Alexis Adams was the eleventh high individual. Makenna Cox and Trinity Johnson received gold ratings. FFA Advisor Bland Baird served as coach of the Dairy Evaluation team. This is the eighth time since 2006 that Spencer County has won the national Dairy Evaluation CDE.

Hannah York of Caldwell County was selected as the national winner in the Agriculture Sales Entrepreneurship Proficiency. Hannah’s project includes selling, constructing, and maintaining fall displays. Her project has grown to include several commercial clients including a local hospital. Hannah’s parents are Wes and Nikel York and her advisors are Wes York and Magen Woods.

Jenna Utterback and Casey Hickerson of Simons Middle School in Fleming County placed third in their division of the National Agriscience Fair. They completed a research project titled “The Effects of Colored Light on Plant Growth.” They were judged on their research report and an oral presentation to the judges.

Spencer County FFA placed fourth in the Farm Business Management Career Development Event. Team members were Evan Stilts, Amelia Floyd, Karley King, and Ian Robinson. Evan Stilts was the 7th high individual and Amelia Floyd was the 9th high individual.

Madison Southern FFA placed 5th in the Environmental and Natural Resources Career Development Event. Team members were Seth Anderson, Ty Allen, Carly Mays, and Lauren Rowlette. Seth Anderson and Lauren Rowlette received gold emblem ratings.

Jonah Brannon of Calloway County placed seventh in the Employment Skills Leadership Development Event and received a gold emblem rating.

McCreary Central placed eighth in the Forestry Career Development Event. Team members were Tony Privett, Austin Tucker, Brandon Spradlin, and Jonah Starrett. Tony Privett, Austin Tuckere, and Jonah Starrett received gold emblem awards.

Taylor County FFA was selected as one of ten national finalists for the Model of Excellence Award- placing them among the top ten chapters in the nation. The award is based on the chapters work in the areas of Student Development, Chapter Development, and Community Development.

Locust Trace FFA was selected as one of ten national finalists for the Model of Innovation Award in the area of Strengthening Agriculture- placing them among the top ten chapters in the nation in this area.

Four Kentucky FFA members were selected as national proficiency award finalists in their respective areas. They were:

Emily Herndon, Spencer County- Agriculture Services

Logan Light- Spencer County- Fruit Production

Allison Sidebottom, Green County- Veterinary Science

Parker Allen, Bourbon County- Wildlife Management

Proficiency awards are based on a written application detailing the student’s accomplishments and learning related to his or her Supervised Agricultural Experience Program. National Finalists complete an in depth interview with industry leaders as part of the selection process.

Other teams/individuals competing in National Career Development Events included:

CDE Area Rating Chapter
Agriculture Communications Bronze LaRue County
Agriculture Issues Bronze Madisonville North Hopkins
Agriculture Sales Silver Calloway County
Agriculture Technology & Mechanical Systems Bronze South Warren
Agronomy Silver Franklin Simpson
Conduct of Chapter Meetings Bronze Montgomery County
Creed Silver Braedon Price- South Warren
Dairy Handlers Silver Kelly Baird- Spencer County
Extemporaneous Speaking Bronze Kyle Bratcher- Madisonville North
Floriculture Bronze Muhlenberg County
Food Science & Technology Bronze Nelson County
Horse Evaluation Silver Barren County
Livestock Evaluation Bronze Cumberland County
Marketing Plan Bronze Spencer County
Meats Evaluation Silver Spencer County
Milk Quality & Products Bronze Jessamine County
Nursery Gold Spencer County
Parliamentary Procedure Silver Rockcastle County
Poultry Bronze Caldwell County
Prepared Public Speaking Silver Logan Bechanan- Nicholas County
Veterinary Science Silver Calloway County


Thirteen Kentucky FFA members placed in the top twelve in the FFA Agriscience Fair. They were:

Environmental Science Division 5- Rebekah Cowherd- Taylor County

Food Science Division 1- Breanna Sharp- Taylor County

Plant Systems Division 5- Tyler Bush- Taylor County

Power, Structure & Technical Division 1- Jaylin Cox- Taylor County

Power, Structure, & Technical Division 5- Austin Boyd- Madisonville North Hopkins

Power, Structure & Technical Division 6- Owen Carey and John Webb- Franklin Simpson

Social Systems Division 2- James Hall and Emily Sapp- Simons Middle School

Social Systems Division 4- Tori Sanders and Taylor Harmon- Taylor County

Social Systems Division 6- Sarah Dennison and Nicole Walters- South Warren

The American FFA Degree was awarded to 91 Kentucky FFA members. This honor is the highest award the organization can bestow on a member.

State FFA Advisor Brandon Davis received the Honorary American FFA Degree. Davis was recognized for his service on the National FFA Foundation Board of Trustees over the past three years.

Fourteen Kentucky FFA chapters were recognized in the National Chapter Contest. Bourbon County, Boyle County, Jessamine County, LaRue County, Locust Trace, Marion County, Mason County, Spencer County, and Taylor County were recognized as National Three Star Chapters. Henderson County, Madisonville North Hopkins, Scott County, and Thomas Nelson were recognized as National Two Star Chapters. Rockcastle County was recognized as a National One Star Chapter.

Austin Clark of Clark County and Madeline Smith of Western Hills represented Kentucky in the National FFA Band.

Hannah Carroll of Hickman County represented Kentucky in the National FFA Chorus.

Hannah Cagle of Hickman County, Jerrett Davis of Ohio County, Miranda Nesselrode of Western Hills, Dallas Patey of Hickman County, Tristan Reilly of Hickman County, Makayla Stigall of Montgomery County, Wayd Wood of McCracken County, and Wyatt Wood of McCracken County represented Kentucky in the National FFA Talent.

The North Hardin FFA and Thomas Nelson FFA chapters represented Kentucky in the National Hall of States.

For a complete listing of National Convention winners, visit

For more Information Contact:

Matt Chaliff, Executive Secretary